Hot bacon in my throat

Today marked the official first day of training specifically for the CrossFit Games Open.

I doubt I will be close to even the top few hundred girls in our region but might have a chance to make it as a team this year so I am training as if I want an individual spot this year. Why not?

I took the past week off after my deadlift meet. I pulled 285# which is a 15# PR for me. It was a ton of fun but I could tell my body needed rest. I hadn’t taken a week of in a long, long time so I figured this would be a good time to do it. I am back… Feeling refreshed and strong.

Today we did:

Deadlift max standing on 45# plate (3” off the floor)

12 min AMRAP:

10 Pistols

15 GHD Situps (I started here)

20 KB Swings 53#

I did my workout at 12pm with the class, which was a ton of fun. I had eaten about 90 minutes before, which consisted of bacon, eggs and spinach. Yum? Yes. [Thanks Timmy for making me breakfast.] Good fuel for my workout? No. I didn’t eat all of it so I felt really light headed on the deadlift. I got 245# up which is a 5# PR.

The AMRAP was awful. With the low energy and bacon grease in my belly, I was only able to complete 2 rounds and 20 KB Swings. I felt like I had hot bacon in my throat, trying to make its way up. The harder I went, the worse I felt. I took it slowly and did what I could. I know if I would have done one round that I’d be sore, and yes, I am already sore two hours post WOD.

The old me would have been upset with myself all day for my poor performance. I have come such a long way since my first year of CrossFitting. I don’t have one ounce of bad feeling in me because there is no need to! Some days are good, some days aren’t as good. There is never a bad day! I did what I could and my body will respond. I am content!

Tim and I made a deal (Caroline is doing it too, without the repercussion):

12 days

Clean meat

Veggies

Veggies

Veggies

Sweet potatoes

Limited nuts/seeds

Healthy oils

Tim: 2 pieces of fruit per day

Molly: 1 green apple per day

Coffee/Tea

Post WOD shake

IF we go out: plain vodka only

ANYTHING outside of this list is not allowed. No grains, no diary, no sugar, no sweeteners,no gum,  no fruit besides what is listed, etc.

If he messes up AT ALL he owes me a 30 minute full body massage and vice versa. Caroline maybe you do want to be involved in this! I might slip him some rice in his veggies… Muhahaha. Good thing he doesn’t read my blog. 🙂

That’s all for now. Time to see if I can scarf down some lunch and hit some mobility before heading back into the gym. Peace!

3 thoughts on “Hot bacon in my throat

  1. Hahaha how about if I mess up, I have to run one mile and do 30 burpees after a WOD. That will for sure keep me on track! lol And I’m keeping my fruit to one green apple as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

