Get Rid of Your Ego

The longer I do CrossFit, the smaller my ego gets. I still believe in myself as an athlete, but I am realistic about what I can do and don’t feel badly about it.

Losing the ego comes with scaling WODs. As I do CrossFit, I learn that sometimes the best thing to do is scale. The workouts are programmed for the elite, not me. If the workout was designed to be a 10-12 minute workout with relatively light weight and done without taking breaks for the elite, then I should be striving to get the same metabolic response to the workout as the elite would- since that is who it is designed for.

For example, if I know elite times for Fran are from 3-6 minutes, that is what I should scale to in order to get close to that time. I would not use a weight or pull-up option that would make the workout last 12-15 minutes. The WOD was designed to tax your body’s specific system that day. Trying to be too macho can ruin the point of the programming, slowing down your overall progress.

It may not be fun or look cool to use an empty barbell on a WOD that I know I can do as RXd, BUT I want to get as good as possible at this sport of CrossFit. That means I need to scale to try to chase after an elite athlete, so the purpose of the WOD can do it’s thing and make me fitter.

Scaling correctly lets you learn about pacing. When you don’t scale enough (or scale too much) your tempo is off and you wind up using too much (or too little) energy. Scaling also avoids over taxing the body, which can lead to overtraining and injuries. That being said, I do not mean you shouldn’t push yourself. The scaled WOD should be pushing you to your limit, the same as it does the elite. Usually scaling make the WOD harder because it is easier to do things right (efficienct) which actually leads to less rest and more work being done.

Lose your ego. Scale your WODs when you need to. Don’t be the one who scaled wrong and always hits the wrong time domains.

CrossFit isn’t just a workout, it is a sport. Sometimes you need a little strategy to get to the next level!

20 thoughts on “Get Rid of Your Ego

  1. I was complemented by my wife this weekend for showing that I could do a certain weight, but then deciding to drop 20lbs to be more efficient through my workout.

  2. It’s easy to compare yourself to the person next to you and think, “Why can’t I do that?” But I’m learning that we’re all at different levels, and we all have different strengths and weaknesses. As long as I’m giving it 100%, as I’ve heard you and Tim say so many times, I know I’m working out to the best of my ability on that day. So what if my 100% is someone else’s 50%? One of the things I love about CrossFit is how it’s built my confidence and helped me embrace and discover what I’m capable of. Sometimes I realize it’s more than I thought!

  3. Pingback: Rid your Ego, Son!

  4. Pingback: Sunday Reading 21.08.11

  5. Pingback: Monday 8/22/11 | Derby City CrossFit - Louisville, KY

  6. Pingback: Monday 8/22/11 | CrossFit Timpanogos

  7. Pingback: 8/24/11……..WEDNESDAY “I GOT SKILLS” « UTC CrossFit Blog

  8. Pingback: 08/25/11 – Northeast Throwdown + 31 Heroes WOD + CHALK!

  9. Pingback: Thursday, August 25, 2011 | Viking Crossfit

  10. Hello, Neat post. There is an issue along with your
    website in web explorer, might test this? IE nonetheless is
    the market leader and a big portion of other folks will miss
    your great writing because of this problem.

    • Thanks for the reminder…..it is SO important to scale correctly!  Love your blogs!   Maureen Suhadolnik Owner, Executive Director GOLD’S GYM Member National Association of Professional Women Member GOLD’S GYM Franchise Association Advisory Board  Member Illinois Women in Leadership Member American Academy of Anti-Aging Medicine Certified Personal Trainer Certified Sports Nutritionist (217) 789-GOLD (217) 789-6256 (Fax) http://www.goldsgym.com   DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this communication is confidential, may be privileged and is intended for the exclusive use of the above named addressee(s).  If you are not the intended recipient(s), you are expressly prohibited from copying, distributing, or in any other way using any of the information contained within this communication.  If you have received this communication in error, please contact the sender by telephone at (217) 789-4653 or by response via e-mail and permanently delete the original e-mail and any copies.  

       

      ________________________________

  11. You’re so interesting! I do not believe I have read through something like that before. So great to find somebody with genuine thoughts on this issue. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is required on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  12. Great work! This is the kind of info that should be shared around the net.
    Shame on the seek engines for no longer positioning this put up higher!
    Come on over and talk over with my web site . Thanks =)

  13. Предлагаем полностью рабочее программное обеспечение/We offer a ready solution for DIETRICH’S 15 ALL MODULES (CRACK – Dongle emulator/Custom license/Patch). Полная поддержка наших решений. Тестирование перед оплатой/Full support for our solutions. Testing before payment. Контакты/Contacts: nodongle24 /@/ gmail.com (remove spaces and /)

    Emme Inrokey Hid Dongle Emulator, Hasp H3 Dongle Emulator, Keylock Iii Dongle Emulator, Wibu Codemeter Dongle Emulator, ROCKEY 5 Dongle Emulator, Rockey 4 Dongle Emulator, Megalock De Dongle Emulator, Rockey 4smart Dongle Emulator, Guardant Net Dongle Emulator, Sentinel Eve3 Dongle Emulator, Net-SparKey Dongle Emulator, цена, Sentinel Eve3 Dongle Emulator, Matrixhid Dongle Emulator, Smartlock Dongle Emulator.

Leave a Reply

